The Citizens’ Jury was formed through a random selection process performed independently and at arm’s length from Government by newDemocracy Foundation.

The organisation drew on Australia Post’s database which contains all physical addresses located in South Australia. Using this, they created a random sampling of 25,000 using database software. Invitations were sent out to the households randomly selected through this process, inviting residents to register their interest to be involved.

Out of the 1,121 registrations of interest, newDemocracy Foundation undertook census data profiling to select Jurors based on their age, gender, location and whether they lease or own a property – ensuring that the jury of 50 people is representative of the broader South Australian population.

A total of 54 Jurors were selected as part of the process, with four reserves in case of illness or emergency.